Passion for Podcasting

I have an idea: to start a series of blog posts about podcasting.

I love podcasting. I’ve been involved in a fan podcast about the X-Files for over a year, and I have discovered boundless potential in this medium. Podcasting is the new radio, one you can tune into at any time from almost any place. There is a podcast on any subject you can think of. It provides a platform for opinions, education, discussion, laughter, seriousness, collaboration, and more.

Radio has always been a great interest of mine. I ran two radio shows in my last year of university, on 106.9 CHMA at Mount Allison University. One was called Technical Difficulties, showcasing mostly Canadian electronic music in the genres of drum and bass and industrial. The other, Alphabet Soup, featured songs from a variety of genres that started with a given letter of the alphabet. I started with A and meant to end with Z, but the time came to leave New Brunswick, where I was studying, and I was not able to make it through the whole alphabet.

What I love about podcasting is that it can be accessed so freely, and while some of it is generated by large corporations or communications firms, it is also a medium that anyone with an idea and some equipment can easily take part in. And, as mentioned before, it can be accessed so easily. I always hate listening to the radio, missing interesting information, and not being able to pause and run it back. With podcasts, you can pause, rewind, and skip forward. 

radio.gif

Radio is COOL!

Podcasting is also a great marketing tool. If you are writing a book and want to spread the word about your work, you can start a podcast. Often, in this case, I have seen podcasts that are in the same genre as the book that is being published, in order to tap into an audience that is already interested in that genre. “Lore” is a good example of this – each episode is about a “true-life” scary story. The writer, host, and producer of the podcast, Aaron Mahnke, also writes supernatural thrillers and will market them at the end of each podcast episode. By gaining a following with his podcast, he can then direct fans to his work as a writer and market himself. Lore has 2.5 million monthly listens, and Mahnke’s books have overwhelmingly positive reviews, so I think this platform and cross-medium method is working for him. And it can for you.

I plan to write about how one can go about starting a podcast, and what I have learned from and about podcasting. This serves as an introduction, a teaser if you will. I hope you will return for more in this series!

Leave a Reply

