Finally Focusing

I’m attempting to get back into this blogging thing!

Earlier this year, while working a part time job and running my own business, I made the crazy decision to back to school. As if I didn’t have enough to do in my life. Let me paint you a picture: For almost 2.5 years, I have been working at a dog walking company about 20 hours/week. Outside of that, I run a small pet sitting company of my own (yes, a lot has changed since I last updated this blog!), which involves lots of driving, lots of scheduling, and lots of cat-petting. Which is awesome, don’t get me wrong! I love what I do…But it is time consuming. A typical day in my life right now, without school, looks like this:

  • Wake up
  • Get ready for work – if lunch isn’t already prepped, throw something together (and it can’t be something I have to microwave – there are no microwaves on the road!).
  • If I have my own cat clients, drive to their houses before work.
  • Drive to work.
  • Spend 5-8 hours, depending on the schedule, walking dogs or, while their owners are out of town, visiting cats and small animals; in between, driving from house to house. If doing a group walk, pick up 6 dogs from their houses, drive them to Pacific Spirit Park, spend an hour in the park hiking, then drive them home again.
  • If I have my own cat clients, drive to their houses after work.
  • Drive home.
  • Take a shower.
  • Make dinner or heat up leftovers.
  • Consider having a life – decide it’s too much work.

Add school into the mix…Well, you can see how it would be challenging!

But. I have come to the conclusion that, as much as I love dog walking and pet sitting, I want to be the person who hires the dog walker and pet sitter when I go out of town, or while I’m at work all day, instead of the one doing it.

So, the only option that seemed available to me was going back to school, getting some training in something new or something I already had. I wasn’t very interested in going further into German or English – that’s what I studied in my undergrad. So, I contemplated doing a few different things – I studied for the LSAT and considered going to law school. I thought about doing some kind of one-year program at a community college. Some 4-year and 1-year programs I considered: ASL (American Sign Language). Screenwriting. Vet technician training. Psychology. Starting a whole other business in who knows what.

After lots of hemming and hawing, soul searching, advice-seeking, and visits to my therapist, I decided on Communication.

It just seems to fit me so well. It deals with how people communicate with each other, how messages are developed and understood, how the media shapes our world, how communication itself shapes our world and the interconnections between people. It involves Public Relations, marketing, journalism. Lots of writing, lots of reading, lots of theorizing. I had no idea it involved so much theory when I first started out. I have been taking two intro courses, even though I don’t have to. I am doing a post-baccalaureate, which means I only have to take third and fourth level courses to fulfill my requirements, but I decided to take the intro courses to ease back into school and really get a foundation for what Communication studies are.

giphy (1)

I still am not sure what I want to do with it. I only just started out! But, I also have this podcast now, about that show The X-Files (you may have heard of it). I do a lot of the social media; I’m the one who does it the most out of the three of us hosts, actually. I guess you could call me the social media manager. And I really enjoy doing it – interacting with our listeners and followers, building those relationships, getting to know people who are pretty important in the X-Files fandom, etc. The Revival that was released earlier this year really helped get us more listeners and followers, but I like to think that a lot of it was my efforts.

My plan is to keep studying and really move into the Communication field later this year, probably late summer. I’m applying to the Co-Op program at my university so they can give me the resources to find a temporary job in Communication. I’m really excited about where this will take me!

Leave a Reply

