Watching

This morning, I watched.

I sat by the waterfront and simply observed.

I watched the cargo ships against a backdrop of blue-green mountains, drifting lazily through the water, letting off steam.

I watched the water ebb  – it looked like crushed velvet, a blouse your grandmother might wear.

I watched the sun reflect against the water, a million diamonds glittering, winking at me, making rich promises for the future – but will they keep them?

I watched the seaplanes, listened as they revved their engines, echoing against the mountains and the buildings, drifting to the middle of the harbour, then accelerating, leaving gusts of wind and sprays of water behind, lifting into the air effortlessly.

Simply just watching is something I need to do more often.

***This post is part of the Blogging from A-Z April challenge. Starting with A, every post in April will be about a topic starting with a letter of the alphabet, consecutively. For more information, please visit the official page.***

Leave a Reply

